• Rise From the Embers
Rise from the Embers Book Cover Rise from the Embers
Lightness Saga
Stacey Marie Brown
New Adult, Romance, Fantasy
CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (August 29, 2018)
August 29, 2018
Kindle, Paperback

The King Has Fallen While Stavros moves to take over Lars’s throne, the war for the entire kingdom begins. However, this is no ordinary war against Seelie or Unseelie. The real enemy is the most powerful object in the world. The Stone of Fail. Lars isn’t the only one the stone wants. Zoey Daniels is next on its list. And the stone will do whatever it takes to finally get the girl. With a battle on all sides and lives of those they love threatened fae, humans, Druids, pixies, and a certain sprite-monkey will have to come together to sav the true King, along with the world, from destruction. Out of ashes, true heroes Rise from the Embers. Don’t miss the FINAL installment of the Dark/Light/Collector Series, where your favorite characters unite to try and protect those they love, and the earth from the ultimate opponent. Ember, Zoey, Kennedy, and Fionna lead the fight, but be prepared…not everyone will make it out alive.

No, it can’t be over!!

Rise from the Embers is book 4 of the the Lightness Saga but is really the culmination and conclusion of Stacey’s three series; Darkness Series, Collector Series, and Lightness Saga.  For Stacey’s fans this has been a five year relationship with some of the hottest, funniest, and bad*** humans and not humans, especially a honey loving monkey/sprite.  She has taken readers around the world to exotic locations for adventures that have pitted the human world against the supernatural as well as fae against demon.

Rise from the Embers picks up right after Lars, the Unseelie King, is stripped of his crown and demon powers by his maniacal uncle, Stavros, who has basically returned from the grave to reclaims his throne.  Lars and Fionna, Seelie Queen Kennedy’s sister and one of the last remaining Druids, come to terms with their relationship only to be suddenly ripped apart by the ultimate sacrifice.  Lars gives himself to the Stone of Fail in the belief that it will keep Stavros from gaining the ultimate power to destroy everyone.  Each of the series has intersected with the Unseelie King at one point and his demise and disappearance is the catalyst to bring all the characters together to fight this unprecedented power shift.

Stacey’s series never lack in great original characters, heart thumping action, or pulse raising attractions   Stacey deftly weaves each character’s return seamlessly into the current story while frequently switching POV between all four female leads from each series as the drama unfolds.  The ending is and isn’t what you’d expect but it successfully satisfies the reader’s need for emotional closure. 

I never get tired of reading Stacey’s books and escaping into the relationships of her leading characters.  Like most fans, I had high expectations coming into the concluding book.  It wasn’t that I was disappointed it just didn’t totally blow me away.  I think, in part, it is just extremely difficult to combine so many strong and fabulous characters into one book.  It’s similar to hosting a big party.  You get to see everyone but rarely do you get time to have a lengthy interaction with just one person.  In the other series you spend so much time with each lead couple that there becomes an emotional connection with them.  In Rise from the Embers you bounce round so much between leads that you don’t get that deeper feeling towards anyone one character.  In no way does this take away from the actual story it just effected how I personally felt.

If you are an SMB fan you will love the reunion in Rise from the Embers but you will definitely be a little depressed that it’s all over.  If you have never read any of the series, don’t delay! Jump into Stacey’s world with Darkness of Light.  But be forewarned, the laundry and even personal hygiene will suffer as you quickly become hooked on Stacey Marie Brown.