Sixteen Scandals by Sophie Jordan

Sixteen Scandals Book Cover Sixteen Scandals
Sophie Jordan
Teen & YA romantic comedy/historical romance
HMH Books for Young Readers
May 25, 2021
ebook, hardcover
256

In this irreverent regency romp by New York Times best-selling author Sophie Jordan, newly minted sixteen-year-old Primrose Ainsworth finds herself on a wayward birthday adventure through London with a mysterious hero—perfect for fans of My Lady Jane.

The youngest of four daughters, Primrose Ainsworth is used to getting lost in the shuffle. But when her parents decide to delay her debut into English society, Prim hatches a plan to go rogue on the night of her sixteenth birthday.

Donning a mask, Prim escapes to the infamous Vauxhall Gardens for one wild night. When her cover is nearly blown, a mysterious stranger intercedes, and Prim finds an unexpected partner in mischief . . . and romance. But when it’s revealed her new ally isn’t who he says he is, her one night of fun may last past dawn.

In this frothy regency romp perfect for fans of Austen-esque flirtation and Shakespearean hijinks, sometimes a little scandal can be a good thing.

“Love at first sight was illogical. It did not exist.” —Sixteen Scandals

Sixteen Scandals by Sophie Jordan is a story that you read with a smile on your face. If you’re a fan of regency romance with a Cinderella-twist, then Sixteen Scandals is the light-hearted read for you. There are not many books lately that I can say I read in one sitting, and this is that book for me. The lack of sleep I’m currently encountering is one hundred percent worth it.

Primrose Ainsworth is a young woman in a situation that would put any one of her peers in fits. She’s the youngest of four daughters, and her parents are tapped out. With her prospect-less sister, Aster, having no luck finding a suitor, her mother insists that even though Primrose is a newly minted sixteen-year-old, she has to wait her turn to present herself to the ton. Instead of bemoaning her situation, she decided to seek out some silver linings for herself. Primrose is a young lady of keen intellect, and fierce constitution. I adored her character. She’s the perfect heroine for young teens, and romance veterans alike.

In stark contrast to Primrose’s character, Prim’s mother is the exact opposite of her, which is why I think this is easily labeled a “Cinderella retelling” because Mrs. Ainsworth is shrewd, calculating, very judgmental, and really has no wish for Primrose to enter society as a young woman ready for marriage. Her mother’s insistence to keep Primrose away from society, by any means, results in Primrose hatching a plan to sneak out and sample London nightlight for herself…unchaperoned. Totally scandalous for the time.

While Primrose enlists the help of her best friend, Olympia, once they reach Vauxhall the friends become separated, and the true test of Primrose’s mettle begins. When a good-hearted gentleman comes to her rescue during a tavern brawl, Primrose gets separated from Olympia. Her rescuer, Jacob, is stuffy but quickly realizes that Primrose isn’t an ordinary young woman. Jacob and Prim’s back and forth verbal sparring is the stuff that I love to read. Full of passion, and confidence, and yet while reading between the lines you can see the attraction growing.

The culmination of Sixteen Scandals is truly swoon-worthy. How Primrose finally gets out of her harrowing situation is what had me reading until the very end. I had to know if Primrose gets her Happily Ever After, especially with how her mother is determined to keep her hidden away.

I can already tell that Sixteen Scandals will be a top read of 2021 for me. It is full of so many wonderful descriptions, heartfelt emotions, and truly swoony moments. Jacob and Primrose are wonderful characters that seem almost magnetized with their attraction. Sixteen Scandals is a story that you can share with your teen, and then also enjoy in your adult book club. This is one truly unforgettable read. Be sure to add this one to your bookshelf immediately and look for the release on May 25th!

Add Comment

Professional ReaderReviews Published