Shipped by Angie Hockman

Shipped Book Cover Shipped
Angie Hockman
Gallery Books
January 19, 2021

The Unhoneymooners meets The Hating Game in this witty, clever, and swoonworthy novel following a workaholic marketing manager who is forced to go on a cruise with her arch-nemesis when they’re up for the same promotion.

Between taking night classes for her MBA and her demanding day job at a cruise line, marketing manager Henley Evans barely has time for herself, let alone family, friends, or dating. But when she’s shortlisted for the promotion of her dreams, all her sacrifices finally seem worth it.

The only problem? Graeme Crawford-Collins, the remote social media manager and the bane of her existence, is also up for the position. Although they’ve never met in person, their epic email battles are the stuff of office legend.

Their boss tasks each of them with drafting a proposal on how to boost bookings in the Galápagos—best proposal wins the promotion. There’s just one catch: they have to go on a company cruise to the Galápagos Islands...together. But when the two meet on the ship, Henley is shocked to discover that the real Graeme is nothing like she imagined. As they explore the Islands together, she soon finds the line between loathing and liking thinner than a postcard.

With her career dreams in her sights and a growing attraction to the competition, Henley begins questioning her life choices. Because what’s the point of working all the time if you never actually live?

Perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Sally Thorne, Shipped is a fresh and engaging rom-com that celebrates the power of second chances and the magic of new beginnings.

This book has me dreaming of a cruise through the Galapagos Islands

 As a person who said they’d never go on a cruise, it’s a testament to Angie Hockman’s story-telling that I’m now adding a Galapagos cruise to my bucket list. Hockman captures the beauty of the islands from her own personal travel of the area.

Shipped is so much more than a cute “chick-lit” romance.

Readers can expect a fun and flirty romance between our main characters Henley and Graeme (Graham). What is a little surprising is their depth and relatable natures. It’s easy to find yourself rooting for both Henley and Graeme to win the promotion their competing for. Prior to meeting Graeme, he appears to be a pompous man with rude email etiquette. She’s blown away to hear that she has to compete with him for a job she is more than qualified for, and for which she was next-in-line.

Henley represents the story of many career women. She’s working long hours, and making great efforts to impress her boss. The uphill struggle that many women experience in the corporate world. Her nemesis, Graeme, stands a few steps ahead of her in their boss’ favor. What some call the “old boys club” works for Graeme. They engage in friendly banter, talk sports, and the like after their company meetings. Graeme and Henley both have very good reasons to want/deserve the job.

How can one of them win the promotion without hurting their chance at true love?

I don’t know how to fully express the greatness of this sweet romance. It’s so much more than a girl meets boy love story. Henley is a great role model for readers. She struggles and doubts herself, yet pushes herself harder. Despite the niggling doubt she feels she also knows her worth. Henley won’t allow a corporate boss nor a drool-worthy co-worker to hold her back. The attraction and subsequent romance with Graeme is fulfilling, but it doesn’t define her. It also doesn’t define the whole book.

Image

This was a perfect “have your cake and eat it too” kind of book. 

In Shipped, Angie Hockman has given readers a cute and funny love story in a very realistic setting of the Galápagos Islands. The cruise line and preservation efforts were fictional, but based on real life issues of the area. Part of what was so magical feeling about this book was the visual scapes and the other characters that Henley meets aboard the ship. Shipped gave me all the feels! 

Add Comment

Professional ReaderReviews Published