Twice in a Blue Moon – Christina Lauren

Twice in a Blue Moon Book Cover Twice in a Blue Moon
Christina Lauren
Contemporary Romance
Gallery Books
October 22, 2019
ebook, paperback
368

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Unhoneymooners and the “delectable, moving” (Entertainment Weekly) My Favorite Half-Night Stand comes a modern love story about what happens when your first love reenters your life when you least expect it…

Sam Brandis was Tate Jones’s first: Her first love. Her first everything. Including her first heartbreak.

During a whirlwind two-week vacation abroad, Sam and Tate fell for each other in only the way that first loves do: sharing all of their hopes, dreams, and deepest secrets along the way. Sam was the first, and only, person that Tate—the long-lost daughter of one of the world’s biggest film stars—ever revealed her identity to. So when it became clear her trust was misplaced, her world shattered for good.

Fourteen years later, Tate, now an up-and-coming actress, only thinks about her first love every once in a blue moon. When she steps onto the set of her first big break, he’s the last person she expects to see. Yet here Sam is, the same charming, confident man she knew, but even more alluring than she remembered. Forced to confront the man who betrayed her, Tate must ask herself if it’s possible to do the wrong thing for the right reason… and whether “once in a lifetime” can come around twice.

With Christina Lauren’s signature “beautifully written and remarkably compelling” (Sarah J. Maas, New York Times bestselling author) prose and perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner, Twice in a Blue Moon is an unforgettable and moving novel of young love and second chances.

Twice in a Blue Moon

I’ve been a big fan of the dynamic writing duo of Christina Lauren for years now. Whatever cosmic synergy they have going on definitely works for them, and Twice in a Blue Moon is no exception to their already stellar lineup of novels.

Twice in a Blue Moon centers on Tate Jones in two pivotal moments in her life. First, meeting Sam Brandis for the first time on a trip to London with her Grandmother. The second, when she’s further into adulthood. At that point, she’s a Hollywood darling, and yet still has something to prove.

I enjoyed how vividly tangible the emotions, and descriptions of young Tate were to me. For the first part of the story, I was instantly transported back to 18 years old (don’t ask how long ago that was), and was wrapped up in the magic of finding the sweetness of first real love. The way Sam and Tate interact had me cheering! All men need to read whatever manual Sam Brandis has that details how to treat a woman perfectly. I also loved the brazen hopefulness that Tate displays as a new adult. I found adult Tate completely relatable too when we see her in the second part of the book. The other cast of characters that surround Tate are just as full as life. All these parts work together seamlessly to make such a vibrant world to get lost in.

Even though I knew it was inevitable Tate and Sam would find each other again, I was totally gripped by this story. It was thrilling not having to wonder if they will see each other again, but instead thinking “when is it going to happen?” and “how will they react?”

I’ll admit, I did actually gasp loudly at one point, which is a testament to how deep I sank into this story. I loved how both authors worked the duality of the past and present into the second, and what I feel is the most poignant part of the story. I hope readers will also agree with how seamlessly it all works together to create a riveting story.

I’m nearly positive that while writing this, Christina & Lauren (respectively) were both smirking with their shared knowledge of what was to come. They were probably both delighted at the delicious torture this story will no doubt bring to their readers, which is exactly why readers love them.

The writing style of Christina Lauren is that their stories are never just romance. They always sprinkle the perfect amount of sexiness, humor, drama, and in this case suspense, throughout the story to make their books incredibly hard for me to put down in order to actually function in my daily life.

Available on all platforms, next week on October 22nd, Twice in a Blue Moon is not one to miss!

 

Add Comment

Professional ReaderReviews Published Challenge Participant
Shares